Leslie Yasul

Leslie has been employed with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (AAFC-PFRA) since 2001 in various positions and locations in Calgary, AB; Hanna, AB; and Swift Current, SK. Currently, she works as a Land Resource Specialist within the Soil Resource Division, working on applied research projects that are related to soil such as the environmental effects of winter grazing systems of cattle and the management of nutrients originating from cattle manure.

Leslie seized the opportunity to do an MSc at the University of Alberta when she heard about a project that was looking at gaps in knowledge in nutrient cycling in riparian areas with agricultural landscape. AAFC was one of the partners involved and she wanted to be a part of it. The opportunity and support from AAFC was there to pursue an MSc and she took an Education Leave and moved to Edmonton in January 2005.

Her MSc project is studying net N mineralization, net P mineralization and denitrification on different land uses and landscape positions within riparian-agricultural ecosystem on a site just south of Edmonton along Whitemud Creek. She has completed 2 field seasons and is currently writing her thesis.

Leslie has won awards during her time with us, including Best Poster Award at the 2006 Canadian Society of Soil Science Meeting, an Alberta Learning Graduate Student Scholarships for 2006-2007 and the 2006 WorleyParsons Komex Graduate Scholarship in Soil Science.

As her Education Leave ended on March 31, 2007, she has returned to work full-time for AAFC-PFRA in Swift Current, SK. Working full-time, writing a thesis and until recently, planning a wedding from 3 provinces away, it has been very hectic! Leslie is confident that her experience with our MSc program will further her career in soil science and it is something that she will never forget!

This article originally appeared in the Fall 2007 edition of the Landmark Newsletter. Leslie successfully passed her MSc exam in June 2008.

Added: 18 October 2010